Chairperson of the Year

Eligibility criteria

To be eligible for the Chairperson of the Year award, applicants should:

  • Be able to demonstrate excellence in their role as a chairperson.
  • Be a chair on the board for a private, public, not-for-profit, or government organisation in Australia that reaches an annual turnover of $5m+.
  • Be available to attend the awards from 6pm to 11pm on Wednesday 15 November 2017 at Crown Melbourne.

Application criteria

As part of the application process, applicants are required to answer four equally weighted questions that refer to achievements in the last 12 months. Each answer has a maximum length of 200 words. The questions for Chairperson of the Year are outlined below.

  1. What were your main objectives this year, and how did you achieve them?
  2. How have you focused on environmental, social, and/or governance factors to ensure stakeholders are satisfied while simultaneously driving business results?
  3. What strategic alliances and/or corporate relationships have you developed, and how have you leveraged them for your organisation’s success?
  4. Why should you win this award?

Application process

1. Check criteria

Check eligibility criteria above

2. Register online

Begin application in awards portal

3. Answer questions

Answer questions as outlined above

4. Upload attachments

Upload any supporting documents (optional)

5. Submit application

Submit application and pay fee ($199)

Chairperson of the Year – Hall of Fame

Tina West

2016 Chairperson of the Year

Tina West
Darkinjung Local Aboriginal Land Council


Barbara Yeoh Photo

2015 Chairperson of the Year

Barbara Yeoh
Board Chair
Monash Health


Gina Rinehart Photo

2014 Chairperson of the Year

Gina Rinehart
Roy Hill Holdings Pty Ltd


Gina Rhinehart Photo

2013 Chairperson of the Year

Georgina Rinehart
Hancock Prospecting Pty Ltd